R. Norman Harden, MD, Founder of the RSD treatment program at the Medical University of South Carolina and later served as the Director of the Center for Pain Studies and founded the Chronic Pain Care Center at the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago at Northwestern University. 

He currently is a professor emeritus of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and the department of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences at Northwestern, He is senior associate editor of Pain Medicine, and current holder of the Addison Chair in Pain Studies at Northwestern

Andreas Geobel is Director of the Liverpool Pain Research Institute, supporting Pain Research in the northwest of the UK. He was appointed Consultant in Pain Medicine at the Liverpool Walton Centre in 2007, where he sees patients in secondary and tertiary outpatient clinics, Pain Management Program assessment clinics, and in operation theatres for neuromodulation trials. He is Reader (Associate Professor) in Pain Medicine at the University of Liverpool, UK Chair of the Special Interest Group 'CRPS' of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP), and Chair of the European Pain Federation Task Force on CRPS.

Stephen Bruehl, PhD is a tenured Professor of Anesthesiology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee. He earned a PhD, Clinical Psychology with Specialization in Health Psychology, University of Kentucky in Lexington.  He was Principal investigator on eight research projects funded by the U.S. National Institutes of Health; Co-leader of the project that developed the 2012 International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) diagnostic criteria for CRPS (the “Budapest Criteria") and has consulted with several pharmaceutical companies regarding development of new therapies for CRPS. 

Frank Huygen, MD, PhD, is Professor in Pain Medicine in Erasmusmc, the University Hospital of Rotterdam The Netherlands. He is director of the centre of pain medicine, a multidisciplinary pain clinic specialized in acute, chronic benign and oncologic pain and palliative care. Frank Huygen is principal investigator of the Academic Centre of Pain Medicine (Erasmusmc ACE).

Gary J. Bennett, PhD, is Adjunct Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, School of Medicine, University of California, San Diego. He earned a doctorate in Experimental Psychology from the Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University and was a Public Health Service Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Institutes of Health.  For over 30 years his research has focused on neuropathic pain and its treatment.

Candy McCabe is the Florence Nightingale Foundation Clinical Professor in Nursing at the University of the West of England, Bristol and RNHRD, Bath.


Her research interests include increasing the understanding of the mechanisms and potential therapies for those with chronic unexplained pain, particularly that of Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) and other neuropathic pain conditions and the relationship between the sensory and motor systems and pain; what part they may play in the development and perpetuation of pain; and how they can be modified to relieve pain.

Lana Edwards Santoro, PhD, Secretary of the IRC Board, works as a research associate, curriculum developer, and educational consultant in special education and literacy. She has taught pre-service teachers at the undergraduate and graduate level; consulted with state, local, and private agencies; and presented extensively about how to apply research-based, instructional strategies in the classroom. Dr. Santoro has firsthand experience with CRPS and knows the profound and far-reaching impact CRPS can have on all aspects of life. 

Peter Moskovitz, MD, an orthopedic surgeon in Washington, District of Columbia, is Chairman of the Board of RSDSA. Dr. Moskovitz earned a medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons and has been in practice for more than 20 years.

Frank Birklein is Clinical Professor at the Department of Neurology, and the head of the section “Peripheral Nervous System and Pain” at the University Medical Centre Mainz, Germany. He is a past fellow of the Departments of Neurology, Physiology and Psychiatry at University of Erlangen, Germany. Served as vice president of the German Interdisciplinary Association of Pain Treatment and is a member of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP), the American Academy of Neurology, the German Neurological Society and the German Pain Society.

Claudia Sommer, MD, is a Professor of Neurology at the University of Würzburg, Germany, where she is a consultant in neurology. She leads the Peripheral Nerve Laboratory, the Pain Research Laboratory, and she organizes outpatient clinics for patients with neuropathies, neuropathic pain or headache. She is a board-certified neurologist and psychiatrist, having received training in psychiatry, neuropathology, experimental anesthesia, and neurology. At present, she serves as president of the German Pain Society and is president-elect of the International Association for the Study of Pain.

PD Dr. Med. Florian Brunner, PhD, is the Chief Physician in Physical Medicine and Rheumatology and Privatdozent, lecturer at the Medical Faculty of the University of Zurich


Board certified in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, he is head of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rheumatology, Balgrist University Clinic, Venia Legendi University of Zurich, PhD University Maastricht. His clinical interests include manual medicine, spine conditions, and complex regional pain syndrome.

Nicole Stagg, Executive Director. Before joining the organization, she led marketing and communications for the Academy of Integrative Pain Management. She is a well-known veteran of the digital industry, having spent 25+ years leading and advising on digital marketing strategies for a variety of clients including non-profits, publishers and start-ups.





© 2019 by IRC. All Rights Reserved.